Ms. Chelsey Croft

Future teacher, life long learner

Please Feedly the teachers! — May 17, 2017

Please Feedly the teachers!

Every time an ECMP 355 is over I realize just how little I know about technology.  Not like I thought I knew a lot, or even anything for that matter.  It blows me away how many ‘tech tools’ I can utilize as a teacher, both as resources, for classroom convenience, for tips on teaching, and about a million other things.  What a time to be alive I tell you!

Enter Feedly.  A site that is essentially everything and anything you can imagine in blog form.  The site seems simple enough to navigate, lucky for me.  I simply began my search by typing ‘education’ in to the search bar.  Many blogs came up, and I followed a lot of them.  Most of them, if not all, had different hashtags attached to them.  One that caught my eye was #edtech.  I clicked on it, and it seemed clear that it brought me to all the blogs that were associated with incorporating education and technology together in some way.  I just began clicking ‘follow’on anything that seemed even remotely helpful to me, which was a lot.

The blog, ‘Educational Technology and Mobile Learning‘ caught my eye right away as there was a post ‘talking’ about what ipad apps that were good for elementary students to learn.  Having a 3 year old at home who already knows how to use an ipad, this is something I was eager read about.  After further investigation of this blog it seemed as though it focused on 2 main things: 1) different apps specific to a particular type of learning (ex. apps for elementary students, coding apps, apps for digitial story telling, etc) and 2) helpful sites for teachers.  The blog posts that were directed more at teachers included things like how to use google drive (something I should really watch and read about), where to find online sources  (sites & videos) to help with lessons, and ‘tech tools’ that teachers can bring into the classroom to aid in student learning.  This blog is relevant to teachers and students in so many ways.  It provides direct sources to learning throughout every step of the process.  From providing teachers with the tools and resources they may need to teach lessons, to providing specific apps that are geared towards particular groups of students.  This will definitely be ablog I can see myself visiting frequently to keep up with the new ‘in’ teachnology and apps to use in a classroom, expeically during my internship.

I look forward to further exploring Feedly, and not just for educational purposes but for personal use as well.  i am sure I will be able to find many good baking blogs to help out my lacking skill!